Military Pathways
to Industry Recognized Civilian Certifications

Military Pathways to Industry Recognized Civilian Certifications

NCCT offers nine credentials aligned with a wide variety of Military Occupational Specialties, including seven for healthcare professionals and one for postsecondary instructors/trainers for any discipline.


It is our mission at the National Center for Competency Testing (NCCT) to certify healthcare professionals and provide pathways to lifelong learning in related healthcare disciplines.

Established in 1989, the National Center of Competency (NCCT) is an independent credentialing organization that has tested more than 500,000 healthcare professionals and instructors throughout the United States.

NCCT designed a Military Eligibility Route (3) to meet the needs of the United States Military service members and Veterans who seek industry recognized civilian certifications.

Examination Results

NCCT will provide examinees with Pass/Fail letters, as applicable. Fail letters provide examinees with content sub-scores to assist with retest preparation. NCCT examinees that have met all certification requirements (documentation, payment, etc.) and pass its certification examination will be awarded certification. They will be sent access to a downloadable certificate and pocket-sized professional ID card with their credential.

With certification, examinees are also provided with an NCCT Letter to Employers. They are advised to include a copy of this letter and the official NCCT Detailed Test Plan in their role for employers to understand the breadth/depth of their knowledge and skills. The letter also provides information to employers about its history, recognition, and the National Commission for Certifying Agencies (NCCA) accreditation of all seven of its healthcare certification programs.


All NCCA accredited certification programs are required to have a mechanism for recertification that meets competency and/or skill update goals. To keep a valid certification status, certificants must meet recertification requirements each year. The annual recertification requirements are the completion of continuing education (CE) hours and the payment of a recertification fee. Annual CE hour requirements: 1 certification = 14 CE hours; more than 1 certification = 19 CE hours.

To fulfill the CE course requirements, certificants can complete NCCT CE courses, listen to archived NCCT webinars, complete NCCT specialty courses, or submit documentation of completion of CE courses from other providers. Outside CE courses are subject to an audit process. NCCT provides courses that are designed to enhance the knowledge, skills, and abilities identified by job analysis in the disciplines tested.


NCCT offers nine credentials aligned with a wide variety of Military Occupational Specialties, including seven for healthcare professionals, and one for postsecondary instructors/trainers for any discipline, and one for Home Health Aides.

Medical Assistant (NCMA)

Medical Assistants perform clinical healthcare duties.

Medical Office Assistants

Medical Office Assistants perform medical office tasks and initial patient contact.

Insurance and Coding Specialist

Insurance & Coding Specialists provide medical billing and coding services for health care providers.

Patient Care Technician

Patient Care Technicians perform clinical healthcare duties.


Phlebotomy Technicians perform venipuncture, micro-collection, and specimen processing.


Certified Postsecondary Instructors are not only subject matter experts, they are also qualified instructors.

ECG Technicians

ECG Technicians perform diagnostic tests to assess heart rhythm and rate.

Tech in Surgery TS-C (NCCT)

Tech in Surgery (surgical technologists) perform various tasks pre, intra, and post operatively.


Certified Home Health Aides provide healthcare to individuals in the comfort of their own homes.